Study Abroad

Powered by Pouvoir Consultants Pvt. Ltd.


·        HSK is the short form for Hanyu (Chinese) Shuiping (Level) Kaoshi (test). The Hanyu Shuiping Kaoshi (HSK) meaning “Mandarin Level Test” or “Chinese Level Test.

·        It is an international standardized test to assess the Chinese-language proficiency of non-native speakers and also for Chinese people living overseas and Chinese national minorities.

·        It is organized by Hanban (汉办) the part of the Chinese education ministry also in charge of the Confucius Institute (孔子学院). The test measures your proficiency through listening, writing, and reading in the language.

HSK Test Levels
HSK (Level I)

Test takers can understand and use very simple Chinese phrases, meet basic needs for communication and possess the ability to further their Chinese language studies

HSK (Level II)

Test takers have an excellent grasp of basic Chinese and can communicate in simple and routine tasks requiring a simple and direct exchange of information on familiar and routine matters

HSK (Level III)

Test takers can communicate in Chinese at a basic level in their daily, academic and professional lives. They can manage most communication in Chinese when travelling in China

HSK (Level IV)

Test takers can converse in Chinese on a wide range of topics and are able to communicate fluently with native Chinese speakers

HSK (Level V)

Test takers can read Chinese newspapers and magazines, enjoy Chinese films and plays, and give a full-length speech in Chinese.

HSK (Level VI)

Test takers can easily comprehend written and spoken information in Chinese and can effectively express themselves in Chinese, both orally and on paper