Portuguese (CAPLE)

CAPLE- Portuguese Language Proficiency Test CAPLE-Centre for Evaluation of Portuguese as a Foreign Language (In Portuguese: Centro de Avaliacao de Portugues Lingua Estrangeira) is a proficiency certificate in European Portuguese as a Second language prepared by the Faculty of Letters, University of Lisbon. Candidates whose mother tongue is not Portuguese and is required to demonstrate their level of command in the Portuguese language may take CAPLE exams. The CAPLE examination is offered in Portugal and 45 other countries.

CAPLE Exam Levels

The CAPLE exam has five 5 levels:

Level A2:CIPLE – Initial Certificate of Portuguese foreign language (Certificado inicial de portugues lingua estrangeira) 

Level B1:DEPLE – Elementary Diploma of Portuguese Language (Diploma elementar de portugues lingua estrangeira)

Level B2:DIPLE – Intermediate Diploma of Portuguese Language (Diploma intermedio de portugues lingua estrangeira) 

Level C1: DAPLE – Advanced Diploma of Portuguese Language (Diploma avancado de portugues lingua estrangeira)Level C2:DUPLE – University Diploma of Portuguese Language(Diploma universitario de portugues lingua estrangeira)

Eligibility Criteria

Candidates who wish to sit for the CAPLE exams must be:Aged 14 or above

A citizen of a country where the official language is not Portuguese; or if the candidate is from the country where Portuguese is the official language, in that case, he/she must satisfy the following conditions:

  • The first language of their parents’ is not Portuguese
  • Their first language gained was not Portuguese
  • Their primary language of communication is not Portuguese
  • All or part of their basic or secondary studies was not in Portuguese

SOURCE: https://www.portugaleducation.info/tests/caple-portuguese-language-proficiency-test.html

Leave a Reply